Welcome 2014!

This year has gotten off to a great start. It’s only been 2 days but I’ve been anticipating this new season for what seems like forever even though it’s only been months. I am always in awe at the way God prepares the way for His plans. We are moving into some things that we have been preparing for since the fall but more on that at another time. I’m trying not to get ahead of myself or more than that ahead of God.

I’ve spent the past few weeks and even more the past few days tweaking details, schedules, life plans, meal plans, finance plans and pulling it all together into what I feel God is leading not just me but our family to. I’ve completed action plans, read books, accepted challenges, read books, joined groups, read more books, started new journals, read more, written more and repeated.I think the biggest part of the nation spends this time doing the same all the while reflecting on personal growth and the years past and setting resolutions.

We don’t make resolutions but we do set goals. In our goal setting we seek God’s direction and what He wants us working on for the year. This year the word is: focus. My first thought was ok that seems so simple. Then after I spent some time in prayer and defining what focus really means…WOW. The definition for focus is: pay particular attention to, the center of interest or activity, adjustment for a distinct vision, a point of concentration, attention and effort and my absolute favorite: adapt to the prevailing level of light and become able to see clearly. What an amazing place to be, so adapted to the level of Light that we see clearly.

It’s not just one word that we pray about but also a scripture that we feel God is leading us to direct our attention for the year and our directive. For 2014 that Word is Philippians 3:13-14 “Brethren, I do not count myself to have apprehended but one thing, forgetting those things which are behind and reaching forward to those things which are ahead.  I press toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.”

There you have it in a nutshell and a very condensed version of what you can expect from me this year as we journey together. I will be spending my time focusing in on God’s plans, putting things behind and moving forward. I am excited about all God is doing and about being able to share these things with you.

I would love for you to share what God is speaking to you about your goals for 2014.

Happy New Year!!

One thought on “Welcome 2014!

  1. ceragsdale says:

    FOCUS is a great word for the 2014 year! My word is PATIENCE because I have discovered in my recent trials that God is trying to teach me a valuable lesson. Romans 5:3-4 ~ “Not only so, but we[c] also glory in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; 4 perseverance, character; and character, hope.” I am making a fresh start in 2014 and will do my best to remain optimistic about the future by putting more trust in my Lord and be more alert in listening to God so I can be ready when he commands me to do something for His good in my life. All I want to do is serve Him to the best of my ability in order to glorify His name.

Leave a Reply

